A Friendly Public Service Announcement: The List of NSW “Safe Schools Coalition” Participants

Earlier toady, Miranda Devine of The Daily Telegraph reported the identity of the 135 schools that have signed up to the so-called “safe schools coalition” in New South Wales.¹ The extreme nature of the coalition’s programme is evident from the background and ideology of its prominent members, most notably Roz Ward of La Trobe University. Ward is the infamous “Coordinator” of the Safe Schools Coalition in Victoria, is also a member of the Socialist Alternative and hosted a seminar in the 2015 Marxism Conference during which she declared that “the left historically and practically has been the key driver for the struggles for LGBTI rights.”² Whatever one may think about her politics, it cannot be denied that these have influenced educational policy in a way that goes far beyond the immediate interests and concerns of parents and their children. Contrary to what many apologists claim, Ward admitted at a later seminar that the safe schools’ programme is not designed to stop bullying, but rather “it’s about same sex attraction. It’s about being transgender. It’s about being lesbian, gay, bisexual, say the words: transgender, intersex.”³

Miranda Devine provides screenshots of the list of schools that have subscribed to this agenda, dated 21 April 2016. The list has been removed from the Safe Schools Coalition website – which is run by the state government – ostensibly because of “inaccuracies.” However, as The Australian reports (see the link in Devine’s blogpost linked in the endnotes) the deletion of the list was most probably a result of the responsible department being angrily contacted by parents who did not agree with this underhanded social re-engineering of their children. Devine concludes that: “this would appear to be a deliberate strategy to keep parents in the dark, and is in direct contravention of federal government guidelines, released in March as part of a review of the Safe Schools program, which require parental consultation and consent.”

Below we have reproduced the list of participant schools that the government does not want the public to know are participating in the “Safe Schools Coalition” programme. We have provided it here in searchable text format for quick referencing.

  1. Albury High School,
  2. Alesco Senior College,
  3. Alexandria Park Community School,
  4. Armidale High School,
  5. ASPECT Central Coast School,
  6. Bega High School,
  7. Bellingen High,
  8. Bellingen Primary School,
  9. Belmont High School,
  10. Berkeley Vale Public School,
  11. Bishop Druitt College,
  12. Blaxland High School,
  13. Bligh Park Public School,
  14. Brunswick Heads Public School,
  15. Bulahdelah Central School,
  16. Burwood Girls High,
  17. Byron Bay High School,
  18. Callaghan College Jesmond College,
  19. Callaghan College Waratah Technology Campus,
  20. Callala Public School,
  21. Cambewarra Public School,
  22. Cammeraygal Public School,
  23. Canterbury Girls High School,
  24. Canterbury Public School,
  25. Cape Byron Rudolph Steiner School,
  26. Carlingford High School,
  27. Centaur Public School,
  28. Cheltenham Girls High School,
  29. Coffs Harbour High School,
  30. Coffs Harbour Public School,
  31. Colo High School,
  32. Coonabarabran High School,
  33. Currambena School,
  34. Dapto High School,
  35. Dubbo College South Campus,
  36. Dulwich High School of Visual Arts and Design,
  37. ET Australia Secondary College,
  38. Evans River Community School,
  39. Fort Street High School,
  40. Glen Innes High School,
  41. Glen Innes Public School,
  42. Glenwood High School,
  43. Gloucester High School,
  44. Gorokan High School,
  45. Gosford High School,
  46. Gosford Public School,
  47. Great Lakes College – Forster Campus,
  48. Henry Kendall High,
  49. Holsworthy High School,
  50. Homebush Boys High School,
  51. Hunter School of the Performing Arts,
  52. Hurlstone Agriculture High School,
  53. International Grammar School,
  54. Inverell High School,
  55. Irrawang High School,
  56. James Fallon High School,
  57. James Meehan High School,
  58. Jamison High School,
  59. Kariong Mountains High School,
  60. Katoomba High School,
  61. Kiama High School,
  62. Killara High School,
  63. Kincumber High School,
  64. Kyogle High School,
  65. Lisarow High School,
  66. Lismore High School,
  67. Lismore Public School,
  68. Liverpool Boys Public School,
  69. Lucas Heights Community School,
  70. Macintyre High School,
  71. Maclean High School,
  72. Macquarie Grammar School,
  73. Marrickville West Primary School,
  74. Masada College High School,
  75. Merewether High School,
  76. Merriwa Central School,
  77. Middleton Public School,
  78. Mount View Public School,
  79. Mullumbimby High School,
  80. Murray High School,
  81. Muswellbrook High School,
  82. Narara Valley High School,
  83. Narrabri High School,
  84. Nepean Creative and Performing Arts High School,
  85. Newtown High School of the Performing Arts,
  86. North Sydney Boys High School,
  87. North Sydney Girls High School,
  88. Northlakes High School,
  89. Nowra High School,
  90. Orange High School,
  91. Orara High School,
  92. Parks Public School,
  93. Parramatta High School,
  94. Parramatta West Public School,
  95. Penrith High,
  96. Pittwater House,
  97. Richmond River High School,
  98. Rose Bay Secondary College,
  99. Seven Hills High School,
  100. Shearwater – The Mullumbimby Steiner School,
  101. Shoalhaven High School,
  102. Singleton High School,
  103. Smith’s Hill High School,
  104. South Grafton High School,
  105. St Marys Senior High School,
  106. Sydney Boys High School,
  107. Sydney Secondary College – Leichhardt Campus,
  108. Sydney Technical High School,
  109. Tamworth High School,
  110. Tamworth Public School,
  111. Tempe High School,
  112. The Emmanuel School,
  113. The Forest High School,
  114. The Scots School Albury,
  115. Tomerong Public School,
  116. Tooleybuc Central School,
  117. Toormina High School,
  118. Trangie Central School,
  119. Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College – Berkeley Vale Campus,
  120. Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College – The Entrance Campus,
  121. Tuggerah Lakes Secondary College – Tumbi Umbi Campus,
  122. Tumut High School,
  123. Vardys Road Public School,
  124. Vincentia High School,
  125. Wadalba Community School,
  126. Wahroonga Public School,
  127. Warakirri College,
  128. Wattle Grove Primary School,
  129. Wee Waa High School,
  130. Wellington High School,
  131. Windsor Creek Public School,
  132. Windsor Park Public School,
  133. Wollongong High School of the Performing Arts,
  134. Woonona High School,
  135. Wyong High School.

– SydneyTrads Editors


  1. Miranda Devine, “The list of NSW Safe Schools the government doesn’t want you to see” The Daily Telegraph (blog) (25 July 2016) <blogs.news.com.au/dailytelegraph> (accessed 25 July 2016).
  2. Roz Ward, “The Role of the Left in the Struggle for LGBTI Rights” Address to the 2015 Marxism Conference (24-27 March 2015).
  3. Roz Ward, Presentation on the Safe Schools Programme (location unknown, undated).

1 Comment on "A Friendly Public Service Announcement: The List of NSW “Safe Schools Coalition” Participants"

  1. It is notable that the vast bulk of these schools are rural or semi-rural schools. Some of the “usual suspects” are there – but not the list one would expect.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.